Significant Stuff

December 28, 2010


It’s the last Tuesday of the year.  This is significant because Team Will-Ness has an open house gathering every Tuesday evening here at Chez Fry and this is our last one before I start my program.

So, what the heck is this “Will-Ness” thing?

It’s What’s Next.

Nutshell time…

Shakespeare in the Park is a vital expression of a healthy community.  It’s a focused effort similar to many Wellness initiatives or goals.

Will-Ness is a personal expression of symbiotic, healthy, personal action.  Participants pick a life-changing, long term wellness goal.  The goal has to be measurable.  Then, we each dedicate the pursuit of that goal to raising funds and awareness of Shakespeare in the Park by getting Sponsors.

It’s like doing a walk-a-thon only the Will-Ness ‘a-thons’ take place over a longer period of time.  But the end result is the same.  A Participant sets out to accomplish something measurable and Sponsors pledge $1, $2, $5 (or whatever) per …  pound, minute, hour, day… whatever the unit of measurement is for the Participant you’re sponsoring.

It’s not as complicated as it seems on first blush.

If you know me, you know that I’m perfectly capable of complicating something simple though.  I believe I’ve successfully done that on the Optimist Theatre blog page where I over explain the Will-Ness Program.  If you have untapped wellsprings of plugger-ness, feel free to read moooooooore detail at http://optimisttheatre.wordpress.com/optimist-theatres-will-ness-program/

So, here’s my personal goal:

I, Susan Scot Fry, will lose 50 pounds between January 1 and December 31, 2011.

I CANNOT tell you how excited I am to start this program.  Creating a truly healthy life and lifestyle has been a lifelong dream of mine.  After training for 2 marathons and after keeping this blog for a year, I feel like I’m primed to tackle this.

I’m so ready!

It’s totally do-able, too.  Nutrition, exercise, face-to-face support, a sense of humor, courage, community and experience – it’s all part of the plan.  I believe I’ve tipped my arsenal of tools so far into the positive that when I falter, I’ve got the wherewithal to get back on track and keep plugging away.

Why pounds?  It’s easy to measure.  I could create a complex measurement system that incorporates nutritional, exercise, mental health, and spiritual goals, but why impose that on my Sponsors?  The pounds won’t happen without the whole, rounded effort, but they’re easiest to count.

Why 50?  In the 2 years it took to get Shakespeare in the Park up and running, it’s close to what I packed on.  I’m a freak for symbiosis, so the number seemed like a no-brainer.  It’s also possible for someone of my height, weight, gender and age to do in a one-year program.  Hey, the point is to succeed!

Tuesday evenings are a gift to myself and a gift to anyone who wants to participate, sponsor, mentor, etc.  During open house from 6 to 8pm, we gather and talk about how we’re doing.  If Participants have similar programs, they figure out ways to help each other.  Various people with wellness sorts of expertise are going to pop in and offer classes on various subjects.

In 4 days, this blog will transition into What’s Next.  A Year of Significance has been significant and it’s not over.  I may not post every day in 2011, but I will begin a new journey.  I probably won’t post anything too mundane like a food diary or exercise regimen.  I may bitch and whine.  I may gloat.  I may beg and plead.  I may rant.  I may poke fun.  I may cry.  I may laugh.  Whatever I do, it will be real, it will be significant and it will be What’s Next.

Until then, here’s to 4 more days of A Year of Significance.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… It’s so easy for this to become my new obsession.  Equals boring.  A key to my personal program success is that it has to be fun.  Doing this has got to equal a fun life.

5 thoughts on “December 28, 2010

  1. Yay for you! You can totally do this. I lost 46 pounds in less than a year and if I get back on the wagon I think I can lose another 20. You’re a lot more active than I am so I’m sure with the right diet adjustments, those pounds will melt right off!

    Like

  2. This is awesome, Susan. I would definitely like to come to one of the Will-ness nights and check it out. I can’t come this Tuesday due to a singing gig, but I will definitely mark the calendar for next week!

    I think 50 pounds in a year is a very reasonable goal. I lost about 60 pounds in a year, but I’ve been stuck on a plateau for a few months, and I’d like to lose another 60. If I could get involved with a great support group, and help raise money for a great cause, it would be win-win for everyone! Thanks for the inspiration! Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

