Significant Stuff

November 26, 2010


I took a break in the middle of my blog this am to refinance our house.  This is the 6th real estate transaction in my life thus far.  Interesting process and pretty significant.

The first transaction was adding my name to the mortgage for the property in Racine.

The most important was selecting and purchasing this house.  This is the first place I’ve ever lived that both wasn’t a rental and that I helped select.

As a kid, I moved a lot.  For very brief periods of time, we were even houseless.  Having a place to live is something I don’t take for granted.

Ron and I chat about situations that people take for granted.  Being loved.  Being safe.  Having a home.  Having food on the table and opportunity around the corner.  Every time we think of beings (children, people, dogs, cats…) who take these things for granted, it’s with a sense of gratitude.  I’m glad that there are people who don’t even think of those things.  That’s the way it should be.  Our dog knows that he’s loved and safe and it would never occur to him to be grateful for that.  Good.  That’s the way it should be.

It’s good to be grateful for the things we have.  It’s even better when the absence of some of those things aren’t in the realm of consideration.  Like being grateful for having toenails.  I don’t even think about it, but if they were missing my balance would be all off.  I’d be consciously grateful for having had toenail attachment surgery.  And for being able to walk without tipping over.

We all have those things in our lives that we would be grateful for if we weren’t able to take them for granted.  Revel in having such a blessed life that you know that there are things that are rightfully taken for granted.  Congratulations.  I’m very, very happy for you.  And for me.  And for my dog.  And my mortgage.  And my toenails.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… Of course, once you start thinking about it…  It’s pretty fun and easy to list the things I’m glad that I don’t have to be grateful for – and all of a sudden, I’m grateful nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

