October 7, 2010

What’s in it for me? The opportunity to keep doing it. That’s what.

I know what’s in it for me.  What’s in it for me is the opportunity to be on this path.  It’s not some amorphous payoff somewhere down the line.  I don’t have to die and go to heaven in order to win.  It’s much simpler.  All I have to do is stay on the path.

This might not seem like a big deal, but it is for me.  I’ve been wracking my brain trying to figure out why I need to stick with some of the choices I’ve made.  What’s my payoff?  What’s in it for me?  Well, the answer is that I get to keep doing it.  That’s what’s in it for me.

I have a lot of faith in myself.  I believe that if I chose a particular direction, it’s probably a valid and worthwhile choice.  I believe that the direction will alter as things play out.  I believe that I’m aware and evaluative enough to see the alterations needed and go for them.

So, learn a lesson from my labrador retriever.  What’s a dog’s reward for fetching the stick?  They get to keep fetching the stick.

Bark!

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… Makes for a much better life experience when I don’t feel like I’m missing something.

2 thoughts on “October 7, 2010”

  1. So. I stumbled across your blog while looking for a picture of an otter holding a beer. How weird?!?!

    Robert – RPFS Stage Manager when you were there…

Leave a Reply

