October 4, 2010

The greatest lesson of all? Enjoy myself. Don’t worry about missing the point.

Do you look for the lesson?  I’m constantly watching out for it.  There’s a part of me that firmly believes that I need to be vigilantly paying attention or I’ll miss it.  I’ll miss the answer.

I have come to a conclusion.  There’s no ultimate answer.  It’s not even 42.  There’s no bear claw (a lovely Japanese story I’ll tell you sometime).  Loads of lessons, but relax.  I’m not missing anything.

My entire life, my Mother would regularly announce that she had learned something that answered all of life’s aching questions.  She had had an epiphany and finally knew the secret to happiness.

Sound familiar?

I am my Mother’s daughter.  Some of my friends are, too.

Last night, we watched a beautiful film called “Departures”.  It’s in Japanese and won an Academy Award for best foreign language film in 2008 (or 2009? … whatever….).  I cried and cried.  It was delightful and loaded with lessons.  Right up my alley.  The greatest lesson of all?

Enjoy the film.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… It’s so much easier to enjoy it all when my priorities are straight.  Not that I need to be straight to find the joy.  I mean, I am straight, but that’s just me.  Not just me, but lots of my friends.  Except the ones who aren’t straight.

Joy.

2 thoughts on “October 4, 2010”

    1. That’s TOTALLY the point of this post. I loved it too. And the important thing about it is that I loved it. Not that it changed my life or that I learned a lesson or anything. Just that I loved it. It’s such a relief to just be able to love something without needing to find the deeper, life changing meaning.

      Thanks, Myra!

      Like

Leave a Reply

