Significant Stuff

September 24, 2010


If you put your ear next to mine, seashell-like, you’ll hear that my brain sounds a lot like the construction going on outside my window.  They’re tearing up the street and sidewalk on the corner.  If I’m lucky, they’ll pave over that natty child care center they’re in front of, too.  I’m a big one to throw stones, though.  Our house needs some major exterior work.  That piece of trim under the front eave is a disaster waiting for a school kid walking underneath to happen.

They’ll be moving closer soon.  I walked outside a couple days ago to discover there are arrows and diagrams painted on the sidewalk and into the yard in front of my house. Made me feel like Alice’s Restaurant.  I think getting some chalk and adding a body outline would be huge fun.  Maybe an outline of someone being attacked by a frenzied cat.  A fat, frenzied cat.

I’m hoping that the paint A) is to show where there are gas lines so that they don’t dig there and blow us up and B) will fade off my lawn.  I’d hate to have to go chain myself to some dozer that’s threatening to tear up my garden.  Of course, it would give me a chance to check that experience off the bucket list.

Where am I going with this?  Call me Alice and come with me down the rabbit hole.  I’m on the verge of jumping.

Ever have one of those days?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  There are giant orange cones marking the path down the rabbit hole.  But, last night at around 2am all equilibrium was restored by the shouting match that took place outside of my neighbor’s house.  Ah, normalcy.

One thought on “September 24, 2010

  1. It may be part of the city-wide effort to fix the manhole cover ussues that cropped up at the last flood. We had paint and 3-4 spots down our street that were torn up. Took a few weeks, but it’s all done now.
    Hope it’s nothing too dramatic/traumatic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

