September 15, 2010

What events would you like to see produced? What do you have a burning desire to attend? That’s what I want to do!

If I wanted to play to my strengths, I’d produce a Renaissance festival.  As fast as you can say “I can pull that out of my butt” uber-focused pre-production would be up and running.  It’s a LOT of work, but it’s in my DNA-comfort zone.

Been there, done that, have way too many polo shirts.

Apparently, the only events that really interest me are ones that pull from my experience and yet are different enough to force me to learn new skills.  Like producing free Shakespeare in the Park.  Or producing our upcoming Halloween event (details coming soon).

Event production considerations are essentially the same regardless of the subject matter.  With different subject matter, I don’t have an automatic bead on my market, but the basic ideas of how to identify and target them are the same.

What’s next?  I suspect it’s more event production.  What kind of subject matter would you like to see?  What events would you like to go to that aren’t already covered?  Oh yes, and it needs to not bore the snot out of me.  (love you railroad enthusiasts, but I doubt I’d cover that topic in an event….)

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  I’m sorry for being so obtuse.  My sarcastic “been there, done that..” comment was apparently lost on some folks.  That means that I’m not interested in producing my own ren fest.

Leave a Reply

