Significant Stuff

August 21, 2010


Well, this is how I would do it.  But, why should you listen to me?  Because, I’ve got almost double the 10,000 hours needed to achiever expertise, according to Malcolm Gladwell.  Ron’s got twice that.  That’s why.

That’s how long we have eached tallied in a single focus.  Festival management – specifically Renaissance festival anagement.  Nearly 20,000 hours for me and 40,000 for Ron tips the Gladwell “Outliers” scale.

I will be the first person to agree that putting in X amount of time doesn’t make you an expert.  You have to look at the outcomes and growth patterns.  I know we aren’t the only ones who’ve successfully logged the hours and grown in skill over the years.  I’m saying that we do know our asses from a hole in the ground and for good reason.

Experience.  Results.  Continual Growth.

I’m not trying to make a point to anyone.  This isn’t a prelude to a “so why the eff didn’t you listen to me?” kind of pissing in the wind.  This isn’t aimed at anyone other than myself.

Regardless of the great feedback I get, I often wonder if I’m qualified to produce.  This perspective helps answer that question.  Yes.  I am.  Of even greater import is, Yes, I am currently qualified and Yes, I am continuing to grow and add to my skills.  I can answer the question, “What makes me qualified to attempt Shakespeare in the Park, a Halloween event, a Dickens event…?”

Nearly 20,000 hours of event producing and a continual acquisition of new skills.

Cool.  Time to get to work.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… These reminders of my competence may seem the height in ego, but I need them.  I work alone for the most part and need to remind myself to persevere.  Whatever it takes.

2 thoughts on “August 21, 2010

  1. I loved “Outliers”. Especially because it debunks the born genius story our society has become so fond of in recent years in favor of the democratic opportunity represented by “practice makes perfect (or at least way better)” story. Isn’t it nice to have a moment of “yeah, I know how to do this and do it pretty well”?

    Like

Leave a Reply

