August 16, 2010

I trashed my training calendar today and am looking for a start-again approach. There’s an answer here. I’m probably making it much harder than it needs to be, but how do I get back out on the trail?

I trashed my training calendar today. I’d gotten so far behind and then had gotten so over my head in trying to figure out how to catch up that it only occurred to me a couple days ago that I can’t.  And that I don’t have to.  I can start over again.  That’s one of life’s miracles.  Do-overs.  Do-agains.

So, what happened?  It comes down to this:  Quality waddling time includes 3 key components:

1.  My husband

2.  My dog

3.  Access to a trail or some other inspirational running path.

That’s what happened.  It is not a quality solo adventure for me anymore.  I’ve got 2 and 3 down pat, but  coordinating schedules is out the window.

So, what do I do now?  Try to talk him into committing to a run-walk schedule?  No, not with his pulled in too many directions, gone more than he’s home schedule.

Commit to asking him every day when he can do a waddle and getting the next time on the calendar?  That may mean a sporadic waddling schedule and consistency is important to progress.

My buddy G would go running with me, but that would take coordinating our schedules and I’ve got an odd mental hump to get over there.  I don’t quite see how that works.  Do I just drop her a line and say, I’m going to head out today at such and such time in xyz place and will be waddling for hummmunnna minutes?  What if she can’t make it?  I don’t go, is what happens.

I don’t want to waddle alone.  But coordinating schedules is in the category of ‘one more thing’.

I don’t want to hold someone more fit back either and my waddles are slow and involve walking.

I want to take my dog with me.  So, whoever waddles with me must like dogs.

There’s an answer here.  I’m probably making it much harder than it needs to be, but how do I get back out on the trail?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… I didn’t intend it, but this turned out to be THE most passive-aggressive post ever.  Both my buddy G and my husband talked to me about solutions.  It looks like there’s a direction to go in and I’m not alone.

4 thoughts on “August 16, 2010”

  1. Today? Tonight? I like dogs. My schedule this week is pretty open (no games) When do you usually like to go?
    I’m thinking you’re making it a larger mountain than it is.

    Love you tons!

    1. I’m totally making a larger mountain than it is. As is my wont. Especially when I’m muddled like I am now.

      Had a great conversation with RS this am and I’m going to aim for Early M-W-F mornings. Like – out the door by 7:30 am, head to the Milwaukee River trailhead and do whatever waddle is on the schedule for that day. Which will be pretty darned short to start with.

      Will that help scratch any ‘get out and move’ itch for you?

      1. sure. So, I could meet you at your place at 7:30 am MWF? Wed. Should be good–Friday is excellent.

        Ain’t no mountain high enough……..

  2. Sounds great. It will be the 4 of us (you, me, dog and Ron). We can drive over to the river trail from here. It’s about 5 minutes away. I’m still on the tail end of the flu, so let me confirm with you tomorrow that I can do it on Wednesday. I’m pretty sure I can, but to be safe…

    Bring your patience.

Leave a Reply

