August 13, 2010

Happy Friday the 13th. What’s your favorite phobia? Mine’s Doxophobia. Fear of expressing my opinions. 😉

Triskaidekaphobia is the fear of the number 13.

Those poor Templar Knights, all slaughtered on Friday the 13th.  I’m sure that didn’t help.  Of course, that would actually be fear of Friday the 13th, which is Paraskavedatriaphobia.

I just found the coolest website.  Phobialist.com.  I may never need to leave the house again.  I obviously don’t suffer from Cyberphobia, or fear of computers.

What else don’t I fear?

I don’t have a fear of telephones, I just dislike them.  Intensely.  But, the phobia for telephones is almost annoyingly obvious.  Telephonophobia.  I feel gypped by the lack of Latin roots.

Wow!  This is so cool.  No more explanations.  No more delving into ‘what’ and ‘why’.  Which always leads to the dreaded ‘what to do about it’.  Just a quick label and I can move on.  Sweet.

What’s your favorite phobia?

Mine’s Doxophobia.  Fear of expressing my opinions.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  In the “Lighten Up” category, I need to do just that apparently.  Too many people took me seriously here.  I know, a real phobia isn’t funny, but I was trying to be.

3 thoughts on “August 13, 2010”

    1. Hey Seaorchids!

      Sorry about that. No joke intended, but you and my dog have something in common with the astraphobia. He’s terrified of thunder.

      Thanks for the comment and for the excuse to look up a couple more words. And for sharing.

Leave a Reply

