July 31, 2010

To those amazing, wonderful, loving people out there who’ve worked so hard not to let our friendship die, I thank and salute you. I haven’t made it easy. I can’t promise that it will be easier in the future, but at least I know I suck at keeping up my end.

Today is the celebration of my friend Edie’s birthday.  I’m going to give myself a gift and go.

My ‘friends’ priority has undergone a recent personal shake-up. Imagine the way the dog looks when he’s soaked to the skin and starts shaking off the water.  On a white carpet.  Oh, lovely.

I’m not the worst friend in the world, but I’m way not the best.  Serious chunks of time will go between base-touches.  I’m still crappy at returning phone calls.  If I don’t straighten out my act, I’d better start socking away cat food for that inevitable time when I will be surrounded by them – and nothing else.

Actually, I doubt I’ll ever be a CCL (crazy cat lady).  I hate scooping the box and the smell would drive me bats.  Yet another reason to be better at maintaining my human friendships.

One of the reasons I worked my way out of the job running entertainment for the CA Faire was when I realized my best friend went through an entire relationship with a man – dating, hanging out, breaking up – and it only truly sunk into my consciousness way after the fact.  I was absolutely out of that loop.  I mean really!  What kind of a friend is absent from something that important?  A disposable one, that’s who.

Selfishly, I need my friends.  I’d like my presence to be needed too, not just nice when it happens.  That can’t happen when I keep a solid barrier of ‘too busy’ firmly plastered in their faces.  I haven’t been lying, mind you.  I am busy.  I’m also a little stupid about putting this priority ahead of some others.

I know that maintaining a friendship takes effort.  It’s an important relationship.  We both gotta tango.  I’ve got a lot of love in my life, but friendship includes closeness.  That takes time and proximity.

So, to those amazing, wonderful, loving people out there who’ve worked so hard not to let our friendship die, I thank and salute you.  I haven’t made it easy.  I can’t promise that it will be easier in the future, but at least I know I suck at keeping up my end.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  Friendships can be like gardening.  A little attention, water, weeding and blooms.

2 thoughts on “July 31, 2010”

    1. I Heart you too, Jen. Thanks for sticking with me. It’s even harder for us because we live so far away from each other. But, when we do manage to get together, it’s stellar.

Leave a Reply

