Significant Stuff

July 28, 2010


We’ve got our re-cap meeting at Alverno this morning.  Then, later, we’re meeting with various folks to re-cap some other Shakespeare in the Park stuff.  There are still some key folks with whom I need to schedule time.  But, it’s all slowly happening.

Prepping for meetings like this is a little nerve wracking.  In the best of situations, the meeting generates an enthusiastic brainstorm.  I’ve been to re-cap meetings where that didn’t happen, though.  Just the opposite.  One in particular was a lot of blindsided finger pointing that had me in tears.  Literally.  I didn’t handle it well.  No-one at that meeting did. But, I grew from it.  I faced it.  I eventually talked to each individual at that meeting one-on-one and settled things.  That’s the kind of person I am.

I was talking to a friend last night about the new leadership position she’s in and the growth arising from the trust she’s experiencing.  She’s responsible for outcomes and is supported in her decisions – regardless of whether or not they led to what she deems an epic fail.  Especially early on in the position where she’s learning so many valuable cause and effect lessons.  I hugely applaud this company.  For some reason, I rarely name names in this blog, but this company deserves credit.  It’s First Stage Children’s Theatre.

In my idealism, I quit a company because of micromanagement.  I suppose most people wouldn’t up and quit.  It’s not the way the real world works.  It’s a job and you stick with it.  I guess I’d read too many ‘life is short’ books and ‘follow your dream’ books.  You know the ones.  They give you enough specifics to get you thinking, but not enough to create an actionable plan.  At any rate, I’ve had enough experience with being in a position of responsibility on paper only and those experiences really helped me appreciate this new leadership situation that my friend is in by contrast.  I’m so happy for her. She’s a natural leader, by the way.  It’s super that she’s getting to do it.

I hope that you’re in a good relationship with your boss.  I hope that you aren’t having to stick it out for the sake of a paycheck.  I know this isn’t the case for many, though.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  My relationship with my boss is fraught with peril.  Oh, wait!  That’s me!  No surprise there.

Leave a Reply

