July 23, 2010

Time for some Taoist sweeping.

Sorting crossed wires.  I’ve been at it so long, that I’m inured to how crisis-like it may seem.  For that, I apologize.  Perhaps an explanation is in order.

Nope.  Can’t think of one.  How about a wish list, instead?

My Mental Health Wish List:

Tolerance and Understanding.  There are some personalities who immediately trigger alarm buttons with me.  Just because someone’s an asshole, doesn’t mean that they’re a sociopath.  It’s okay not to like someone, but it doesn’t mean they’re dangerous.

Patience.  I hate patience.  I have none.  Zero.  This inability to plant the seed and see what grows has both served me well and fouled me up.  I plant the seed and then weed, water, talk to the sprout, give it too much fertilizer and loose sleep over the fact that I planted cotton and got a tulip.

The Ability to tell the Difference Between Discretion and Secrets.  I suck, suck, suck with secrets.  I have this burning desire to warn people about any situation in which I’ve encountered an asshole.  Not airing the experience feels like I’m protecting an abuser.  It may just be my opinion, anyway.  I’ve preached “Assume Best Intentions” and have the hardest time following it.

I’m sure there’s more, but I’ve run out of patience.

I do recognize my personal warning signs.  My perspective may be a bit more skewed than usual.  I had better take care of that.  I prescribe long walks, lots of water and no junk food.  There’s a Taoist practice called sweeping.  It’s purposeful, meditation in motion.  An activity that requires no real thought, accomplishes something and is physically immersive.  It’s a great way to sort crossed wires.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  I seem to be in an emotional trough of sorts.  It happens.  Biorhythms, something…

Leave a Reply

