Significant Stuff

July 16, 2010


I spent some time editing a Haunt Spots tour script yesterday.  I loved it.  Good stories about creepy places are kind of like Goosebumps for adults – more history, no fewer chills.  Maybe a little less gooey ectoplasm.

I’m about 1/2way finished with a new tour.  The research is done.  The route is done.  3 of the 5 audio scripts are written.  The other 2 scripts are drafted.  It’s got a title.  After this one, I’ve got raw materials for 2 or 3 more tours.  My goal is to kick them out for a killer (pardon the pun) fall season.  After that, who knows.

Caper Company’s Haunt Spots Tours are groovy, Scooby fun.  They can also be a bit scary and test your nerves – at least, those are the reports from some of the people who’ve tried one.  I get that thrill when we go out on the research trips.

Usually, the people who vehemently deny the existence of ghosts are people who have some sort of deep seated need to deny them.  Me, personally, even after all the rocking-chair-moving-on-it’s-own-weirdness I’ve experienced in visiting over 130 places that are reported to be haunted, I’m a skeptic.  But, it honestly doesn’t matter to me one way or the other.  I love the stories.  I love getting in the car and going to explore.  I love the atmosphere and the history.  I love the companionship of this experience.

When I go check a place out, I’m not trying to prove or disprove anything.  I’m looking for places that would be cool for others to experience.  Is it accessible?  Is there a creepy atmosphere?  Is there a good ghost story?  Are there visual elements at the location that tie into the story?  Is there fascinating history?  I suppose I could do that with any theme.  I just happened to pick ghosts.

Why?  Because I love ghost stories.  Am I the only one?  Nah, I didn’t think so.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  I know, I know…  The ghost tours are usually the blog subject that gets people’s attention given this larger context.  It’s significant to me, though.  I’ve invested a large part of my life in creating this business and I need to see it to a certain point.  So, I talk about it.  What I do to try to earn a living is a big part of what’s significant for me.

Leave a Reply

