July 10, 2010

I’m reading a mystery series by Dana Stabenow. The protagonist is a Native American PI named Kate Shugak. She lives in a fictional national park in Alaska.

I’m reading a mystery series by Dana Stabenow.  The protagonist is a Native American PI named Kate Shugak.  She lives in a fictional national park in Alaska.

Kate Shugak kicks ass.  She’s highly intimidating with mighty flaws.  Great mix of skills and attitudes.  I think.  The last few pages I read were blurry.  It was while trying to get back to sleep sometime between 3 and 5 am.

There are things on my mind and they wake me up.  The actual subject rotates, but it’s always a worry.  As if being awake and pondering what to do will resolve the situation instead of exacerbate it.  Ron is the same way.  He habitually gets up in the middle of the night and has to go read in order to get back to sleep.  Just goes to show you, it all comes out, one way or another.

Today, I relinquish worry.  I’m either going to figure out what to do or I won’t, but obsessing about the issues doesn’t help.  I think a little prayer might.

Kate Shugak would go kick someone’s ass.  But, she would also worry obsessively.  She could probably use a little prayer too.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… I had to remind myself not to worry, which is quite a bit like telling myself not to look at the pink elephant.  But, it worked.  I was very busy and had a good day – oddly.  I was up to my elbows in muck, but I had a good day.

Leave a Reply

