Significant Stuff

June 28, 2010


When I was 18 or 19 years old, I remember telling someone that what I really wanted most in the world is my own theatre company.

29 years later, my husband pointed out to me that that’s what’s happened. My mind shut down, refusing to believe.  It’s not mine at all.  It’s everyone who put so much into it.  If there’s credit, it’s for the germinal idea.  The moment that spark leapt into the universe, I no longer owned it.

Technically, no-one owns Optimist Theatre (what a perfect name) because it’s a non-profit.  I don’t make the decisions, either.  Not all of them anyway.  I am part of something much bigger than myself.

Dreams aren’t magic.  They’re just hard work.  And sometimes they sneak up on you.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  Sometimes the dreams manifest themselves as piles and piles of stuff in my house.  The company owns some properties now (walkie talkies, costumes, lumber…) and we need to figure out where to stow it all.

This is the flipside of dreams – the stuff that dreams are made on requires storage…

Leave a Reply

