June 22, 2010

Timing.

It includes all timing, not just fast-paced and frenzied. It includes harmony with all things. Natural timing is not laziness. It’s perfection.

Timely

Qia.  Looking at the Chinese pictogram, on the left is the sign for “heart.”  On the right is a phonetic, the character for “union,” and “harmony” with a triangular formation that signifies the joining of the two sides.

Timing is everything in Tao.  To act in a way that is harmonious to circumstances and in accord with one’s own heart is rare but precious.

(from Everyday Tao by Deng Ming-Dao)

There’s an unfortunate sense of desperation overlaying my sense of timing.  As if I’m always late.  As if there are things that are incredibly important that aren’t being done and it’s all my fault and the world is about to come crashing down on my head.

This is untrue.  This is an ego-fueled fallacy.  This is also the result of not taking good care of myself.

There’s this great sense of guilt wrapped up with taking good care of myself.  How screwy is that?  Taking good care of myself doesn’t mean going on a cruise to the Bahamas.  It means eating healthy food, taking a walk with my dog and getting enough sleep.  It means seeing friends.  It means watching a movie with my husband.  It means doing wonderful work and then stopping before I’m totally depleted and unable to enjoy my life, appreciate the results and re-fuel myself to do it all again the next day.

I’ve struggled with this all my life.  I despise laurel-sitting.  I am uncomfortable with inactivity.  I’m a very poor glow-basker. It’s not that I don’t feel deserving of acknowledgment of a job well done or a dream realized.  I actually adore the thanks or praise – it’s hugely appreciated.  I just don’t have time or inclination to give it more than a few minutes.  The end-run acknowledgment is not a goal, it’s a signpost on the path.

If I could harness the energy of my mental activity, I’d be really thin.  Hmmmm.

And I illustrate my own point with all this frenetic thought processing.  Timing.

Timely.

Timeliness includes all timing, not just fast-paced and frenzied.  It includes harmony with all things.  Natural timing is not laziness.  It’s perfection.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  “First things first” is a good beginning, but doesn’t quite hit the mark.  Combine it with another excellent AA slogan “One Day at a Time” and we’re cooking with gas.

Leave a Reply

