Significant Stuff

June 21, 2010


There’s a mass of yellow flowers outside my window and a bouquet on my desk.

Last night, a member of our crew saw Ron and I sitting for a couple of minutes, eating a burger and listening to Bo’s music and said it was really great to see us enjoying this thing we created.  Of course, we didn’t create it.  We’re catalysts.  We’re enablers.  Cheerleaders, form-makers, public-speakers, box-officers, grant-app-ers, etc-ers.

What’s next?

After last night’s performance, a gentleman came up to me and my donations basket, introduced himself and asked if we had ever heard of the MPS Partnership for the Arts.  Well, I confess – arts education grants have not been at the forefront of our awareness.  Peripheral, yes.  But most of our grant applications have been geared toward straight arts support. That said, we already have a huge educational outreach component incorporated in our mission goals.  Perhaps it’s time to explore those further.

Just before we opened The Tempest, we also had a meeting with a representative from the Wisconsin Humanities Council.  You know, we’ve got a lot of humanities related elements and scholarship incorporated in our approach to free Shakespeare in the Park and The Tempest, so he thought we should apply for those grants as well.

I think that today, I’m going to enjoy these flowers.  There are more blossoming all the time.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  My blink is getting better and better here.  There’s lots of room for growth, but I feel like I’m on a good track for honing those instincts and senses.

One thought on “June 21, 2010

Leave a Reply

