Significant Stuff

June 14, 2010


I don’t know what I’m going to say at the presentation this evening.  I hope Dan’s not reading this.  Oh, Hi Dan!  Kidding, really – just kidding…

I tend to over prepare for speaking engagements, which leaves me coming across like a talking head.  Tonight, I’m going to use an outline and aim to hit some specific points.  One of my biggest goals is to try not to gush about Laura Gordon, who’s also on the roster.  I’ll try not to end up looking and sounding like a geeky fan who somehow snuck in like the Obama dinner party crashers.

Okay, the list for today is substantial, but if I keep on top of it, all will be well.  While writing this post, I’ve sent off 4 emails, made one call, taken an RSVP call and ran a mapquest to the nearest bank branch.

I love this.

Oh, yes, and what WILL I say tonight…?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… I took all my blurry notes and an index card.  The index card went up to the podium with me.  I did well.  Lots of people came up to me after the presentation to chat about the experience that I described.  And, that was the gist of it, too.  It was about the experience of putting together free Shakespeare in the Park almost as much as it’s potential significance to the cultural footprint of Milwaukee.  It was personal.  People responded.

One thought on “June 14, 2010

  1. You’ll (hopefully) say some words.

    What really matters is what your audience will hear. And, really, what they’ll hear is your passion for this project, for theatre and the arts, and how they can build a community up and make it better.

    They’ll hopefully come away with the fact that even though Shakes is free to the public, that it doesn’t come without cost – personal time and energy, and yes, a financial ding, too – but that the cost will be worth it and more.

    And it should be just fine to gush about Laura Gordon and your fellow presenters (but just a little bit). Because our arts community doesn’t live in a vaccuum, and we do need to support and give credit and praise where it’s due.

    You’ll be fantastic tonight. And I expect a full report tomorrow. ( and I bet Laura Gordon will be gushing about you.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

