Significant Stuff

June 8, 2010


I don’t have anything to wear to an awards ceremony.  I’ve become such a home-office, computer-hunched troll that my only requirement for clothes are that they’re clean.  Or have been once.

I had a little panic attack a few days ago.  I was talking with our House Manager about what to ask our front of house volunteers to wear when they’re helping out with free Shakespeare in the Park.  I thought, “Oh no, do I even have 7 days worth of something that I can wear outside the house?!”  I was slightly comforted to realize that it’s really only 3 days, then laundry and then 4 days.  Maybe I can eek something out.

Usually, in any wardrobe, there’s the emergency back-up outfit.  That combo that I know I can always wear in case I don’t miraculously discover something actually attractive hiding in my closet.  Nope.  Not the case any longer.  10 years at the Faire meant that my business wear consisted of shorts, a logo polo and hiking boots.  It’s a great work outfit, but not the thing outside that particular venue.

So, this evening is the Milwaukee Arts Board awards ceremony.  I bought a pair of nylons at Target 2 days ago, so that’s a start.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… It’s so funny when you hear someone use a word in conversation that long ago passed out of commonality.  I’ve officially and solidly placed myself out of touch by using the word nylons.  They’re probably called something else now and I still don’t know what.  But, I wore my new pair of hose (another old word) last night and managed to cobble together an outfit.  The jacket is too small, but all in all, I looked okay.  Now-a-days, it’s odd to see me with eye make-up on, so I’m hoping that distracted people from the outfit.

One thought on “June 8, 2010

Leave a Reply

