May 30, 2010

I have a dream. Many, actually. What’s yours?

I was chatting with my former boss Linda on the phone a couple of days ago.  Just catching up on little life tidbits.  She’s getting a new dog, The Tempest opens in 3 weeks.  She’s flying to DC soon, I’m going to be hustling up work post Tempest. You know, catching up.

It’s funny because I had been thinking a lot about her lately too.  It was a pleasant rush to hear her voice.  She and I used to have the best, “This is a great idea!” kinds of conversations.  Often over cocktails.  Yeah, I miss her.  A lot.

I need those “I have a dream” conversations.  I need to revel in possibilities.  I don’t get nearly enough of that.

Granted, at the moment, those conversations can be a bit burdensome if they end up adding to an already full list.  Ron and I have a saying – “It’s just one more thing.”  That means that it’s probably a great idea – one I’d normally enjoy exploring, but my head is overloaded right now.

Sometimes those dreams aren’t “One more thing”, though.  Right now, the production list is really, really long so my “I have a dream” is to get it all done really well.  But, even in the midst of all this glorious overload, I have other dream thoughts.

I ponder possibilities and directions.  The timing is right.  If I want to make “What’s Next” happen, I need to have it started before the current project is over.

What’s your dream?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… The problem is having too many dreams.  It’s hard to be okay with saying no to some, but it’s the only way to say yes to others.

Leave a Reply

