Significant Stuff

May 26, 2010


Focus on one thing at a time.  This morning, I’m prepping stuff I’ll be working on with someone else tonight.  Este and I are going to start figuring out the layout for the displays we’re working on.  She’s the artist and I’ve got the content.  I think between the two of us, it will be nice.

How’s that for helping set deadlines?  Make a commitment to someone else.

What I’m not going to do is make my bed this morning.  Not because it will just get messed up again tonight, but because I don’t actually need it made until tonight.  Every evening, I straighten up the bed before I climb in.  It makes for a more comfortable going-to-sleep experience if the sheets are crumple free and the cushiness is evened out.  In the morning, I have other things to do and I don’t care what the bed looks like during the day.

This reminds me of a Taoist saying about doing what needs to be done when it needs to be done.  I tend to do as much as I can far ahead of time.  Sometimes, that’s a good thing.  Sometimes, it works better to wait.

That perspective is new for me.  It takes faith and release of the illusion of control.  Oh yeah – I’m great at that!

It’s funny how straightforward things become when I’m not getting enough sleep.  I’ve got x number of active little grey cells and don’t have the capacity left for the little added pleasures in life like being a control freak.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… There is a time and place for many things.  It’s a trick to figure it out.  It’s not something intuitive.  I tend to be more of a bull in a china shop.  But then, I also don’t let things sit in ‘we’ll get it all figured’ out status.  That drives me nuts.

Leave a Reply

