Significant Stuff

May 24, 2010


Just keep showing up.  Sometimes, it doesn’t matter if I’ve got something specific to contribute as long as I’m there.  Just in case.

If parents can do that one thing, it makes all the difference in the world.  I would have given the world for my parents to have just shown up.  Ever, to anything.  Sober would have been a bonus.

I’m not a parent, but it’s still a good practice.  Show up.  Be there.  Walk the walk of caring.  Sometimes, just by being nearby, I can help.  In the meantime, I’m still working.

Functionally, I’m not needed at rehearsals.  Heck, I’m the managing director and have other sorts of deadlines.  But, that’s not what this time is about.  It’s really all about these actors.  They’re trudging through the process.  It’s joyous and frustrating, confusing and elating.  It’s work.  They deserve all the support and effort I can give them.  They should know we’ve got their back.

Showing up helps.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  This is another example of how we are fated to become our parents unless we stage an intervention.  Things that seem so simple – like this.  I was not taught the value of showing up, but boy did I feel the lack.  I was taught that my presence was only valuable if I was actively contributing something — if I had a function to fulfill.  But, then once the function was fulfilled, I needed to get out.

How familiar is that?  It’s classic!  “Abused kid gets along by becoming an overachiever, but never learns other social skills in the process”.  Well, I can still learn.  And, I’m learning the value of just showing up.

One thought on “May 24, 2010

Leave a Reply

