May 21, 2010

I love hunkering down over a hot laptop and I enjoy my own company. It’s wonderful to work from home but, every once in a while, I need to swim out and frolic with the other dolphins.

I need an out of office auto reply on my email.  Today is booked with people.  Real, live people.  I’m giddy.

Last night, I happily drove to rehearsals just to drop off some stuff even though I knew I couldn’t stay.  I had to get back to my computer and keep plugging away.  I was just so happy to have the chance to get out and be near other living, breathing human beings that I did the 20 minute drive each way.  I think it was the production meeting earlier in the day that primed the pump.  I got to see people and wanted more.

I love hunkering down over a hot laptop and I enjoy my own company.  It’s wonderful to work from home but, every once in a while, I need to swim out and frolic with the other dolphins.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… It’s so funny.  Be careful what I ask for because I might just get it.

I can be a pollyanna and I own that.  It’s okay.  I’ve still got a sense of humor.

3 thoughts on “May 21, 2010”

  1. Boy howdy, do I know THAT feeling. Working for myself is great in a lot of ways: I love what I do, I can make my own hours, and I can work in my jammies. But the downsides are harsh. I work harder for myself than I would for anyone else, and I’m alone a LOT. Which means that the second I get out near actual living human beings, I am so starved for human contact that I immediately become a nuisance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

