May 20, 2010

Time to read some Eckhart Tolle and get a good dose of living in the moment-dom. How do you stay focused on the task at hand?

My plan for today is to do lots of stuff.

I finally had to close all my other windows so that I could concentrate on one thing at a time.  Today will be like that.  Too many shiny things vying for my attention.  That makes today a Fry-Day. (Ron not only gets the reference but is cringing in recognition.)

Great waddle this morning.  It was my longest run yet – which means I had to actively focus on here and now instead of anticipating when it will be over.  At least living for 3 minutes from now is better than living in fear of tomorrow.  I think.

Confession – I walked away from a draft of this post to go put on mascara.  I wasn’t planning on putting on mascara.  I just discovered after one eye that that’s what I was doing.

Time to read some Echart Tolle.  He’ll lambast me into living in the moment.  Bless his furry heart.

How do you stay focused on the task at hand?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… It helped that I wrote down the vaguest list in the world.  I swear, it was like “AM, do misc stuff.  PM, edit and email all the bios out.”  And, that’s exactly what I did.

I think the point is to have in front of me a written note of the big project for the day.  That way, when I become distracted and am looking around frantically, the note will call me back.

1 thought on “May 20, 2010”

  1. It’s been my biggest challenge all week. I’ve been trying every bypass I can think of. Saturday, I’m using the dark. Rather than going on my 4-5 am hike, I’m going downstairs, putting on the laptop, and making it happen while the coffee brews, and let the speed of my typing rise with the dawn.

Leave a Reply

