May 17, 2010

In an odd way, I’m happy that there are very few logos associated with free Shakespeare in the Park this first season. We could really use the corporate sponsorship, but this first year it’s as close to an altruistic gift as you can imagine.

This morning we had the river trail all to ourselves.  It’s the first time that we’ve never met up with another walker, runner, dog romper, biker, etceterer.

It’s the same trail out and back, but I haven’t tired of it yet.  Honestly, though, I’m not too concerned about variety in my running environs.  I may be the only person who would prefer not to have the bands playing along the marathon course.  I find them more a pain in the butt than entertaining.  I’m not running so that I can get 20 seconds front row at a wildly costumed concert.

You know who I did love seeing during my first marathon?  The woman at around mile 16 who handed me a banana.  I swear, she had the glow of beatification about her.

I know, the bands aren’t really for the runners.  They’re part of the party.  It’s the party that gets 2.1 million people to turn out to cheer the runners.  It’s that kind of turn-out that gets sponsors to fork over the money needed to hold the event.  Those sponsors know that their logo will be seen by 2.1 million people and be worn by 35,000 runners.  Talk about bang for your buck.

In an odd way, I’m happy that there are very few logos associated with free Shakespeare in the Park this first season.  We could really use the corporate sponsorship, but this first year it’s as close to an altruistic gift as you can imagine.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… So, naturally I started looking at big sponsorships and grants again.  Just because I’m happy to be mostly logo-free this year, doesn’t mean that we don’t need them for next year.  And, it takes a year or two for most organizations to consider you.  Here’s to 2011 and beyond.  Go, go, go!

Leave a Reply

