Significant Stuff

May 11, 2010


Today is What’s Next.  We start all-cast rehearsals for The Tempest this evening.  From an idea back in October of 2008 to today.  This definitely qualifies as a good What’s Next.

And, in good What’s Next fashion, I’m already working on What’s Next after this one.  I like my life projects to overlap now.  It’s one of the great things about training for the half marathon.  Not only am I giving myself a ton of time to train, but it’s guaranteed to overlap Shakespeare in the Park with What’s Next.

The half marathon is also a great example of how What’s Next doesn’t have to be a one-off.  One of the training goals is to make running a part of life instead of a project.  I want to run for the rest of my life.  I want free Shakespeare in the Park to go on after this season and just grow and grow.  It has the potential to do just that.

I do love projects.  I’m highly self-directed, organized and am great at working on my own.  As a matter of fact, I’d probably drive an employer nuts right now.  Granted, I need to find an employer – which is definitely not What’s Next – and when I do, I’ll be good.  I’ll make their lives better.  They’ll be very happy.  But, working for someone else is a means to an end.  It’s not What’s Next.

That helps.  Knowing what I don’t want helps me clarify and plan for what I do want.

“So, Brain, what do you want to do tonight?”

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update… Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to self-deceive.

Leave a Reply

