May 9, 2010

I am a force to be reckoned with. This is not a boast. It’s a statement of fact. I believe there’s more. I want it. Happy Mothers Day to all women who want more. Join me in the revolution.

I woke up wondering who could write a letter of recommendation for me.  I’ve written plenty for other people, but I’m at a loss as to who to ask to write one for me.  Okay, okay, now that I’m consciously thinking about it, some names are coming to me.

I got a letter of rec from someone once who obviously had no idea what I contributed.  That was a  funny eye opener.  It made me wonder why he’d agreed to write one when the most specific thing he could say was how organized I am.  Well, duh.

I work behind the scenes and my effectiveness is reflected by how effective other people are able to be.  As a result, I’m sometimes invisible.  Which takes work for a woman my size.

I understand how this happened, but I’m done with support work being the depth and breadth and height my soul can reach.  I’ve got more to give the world.

Let me be perfectly clear.  I love helping other people do good work.  I love it so much that I’ll repeat it.  I love helping other people do good work.  I am also done with ignoring my personal light at the same time.

Am I busting out?

I am a force to be reckoned with.  This is not a boast.  It’s a statement of fact.  Part of my effectiveness is a result of my skills at producing.  I believe there’s more.  I want it.

I don’t believe that these are diametrically opposed goals.

Okay, what should I do?

Happy Mother’s Day.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  You say you want a revolution, we-ell you know….

Apparently, I’m not the only one.  There’s a fraternity of us who have chosen to sublimate what we want for the sake of (fill in the blank:  expediency, love, money, acceptance….) and aren’t willing to do it anymore.

Here’s to another great song, “You may say-ay-ay, I’m a dreamer.  But, I’m not the only one…”

3 thoughts on “May 9, 2010”

  1. I feel the same way. I recently got fired from my job after three years. I think that one of the reasons was that my boss wasn’t aware how much work I was doing — and when I tried to make him aware, he would say, “Why are you telling me this?”

Leave a Reply

