May 3, 2010

Run?! Hah. I’m a waddler.

I feel great.  In seconds, every muscle in my body will seize up and ache, but in the meantime….

I did it!  The journey of 1,000 miles begins with 1 step.  They were slow – even for me – plodding – I almost bored myself – and interminable – but they were fun, too.

I got up early, dressed, stretched, woke up Fry, collared up Elliott and out we went into the beautiful day.  Coffee was waiting for us when we got home 19 minutes later.

It felt so familiar, so comfortable.  It was a little bit of a surprise how small the struggle was this morning.  It’s easy to be in love with it, post-run.

Run.  Hah!  I’m a waddler.  I need to start reading John “The Penguin” Bingham again.

Now, I’m going to capitalize on the energy and get moving out the door.  Quick, before the endorphins wear off.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  Wow, my energy level increased after one day!  Tells you what kind of slug I’ve been.  That’s the pro.

The con – changing my diet so radically from ice cream and potato chips to fruits, veggies and water in one day = acid reflux kept me up a lot of the night.

I’ll take it!

3 thoughts on “May 3, 2010”

    1. I totally want running company – especially yours. As soon as I can do more than waddle for 5 minutes, we’re on. I can walk for about an hour right now, but running is a different matter.

      I’ll keep you posted, my dove.

Leave a Reply

