Significant Stuff

April 23, 2010


Wishes.

Hey!  I know Fairie Godmothers!  I think I’m set.  These ladies are mighty powerful in the wish department.  Now, where are my wish bracelets?  I think I should wear them today.

My greatest wish for today is deceptively mundane.  I wish that Quickbooks was all set up.

(clicking my heels – tap – tap)

This is one of those domino wishes.  When it’s set, I get payroll set.  When payroll’s set, I can pay our Equity cast on time.  When the Equity cast is paid on time, Equity is happy with us.  When Equity is happy with us, we get to present free Shakespeare in the Park on an Equity waiver contract.  When we get an Equity waiver contract, we can afford to bring free Shakespeare in the Park to Milwaukee in the first place.

Confession, it keeps getting put off because I am terrified of it.  I just know that I’m going to screw it up.  I make progress, get overwhelmed with the numbers and configurations and become paralyzed into inactivity.  Okay, it’s probably not as bad as all that, but it feels like it when I look at the increasing stack of stuff to do to be a responsible accounting citizen.  I feel like I’m being whacked in the head with a stick, which leaves me dizzy.  Dizzier.

And the clock ticks away precious lead time.

Okay, that’s my wish.  I wish someone would spend some time sitting with me, sorting through and helping me with the financial set-up.

(tap – tap)

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  Something magical happened.  I didn’t actually ‘do’ all the set-up stuff that I need to do, but I did sort it and figure out the tasks.  So, now I’ve got a plan.

With the help of another Fairie Godmother, I was also my own Fairie Godmother.

One thought on “April 23, 2010

Leave a Reply

