Significant Stuff

April 19, 2010


There’s no such thing as doing something for the sheer enjoyment of it.  If it’s a thing to be done, it must considered work or it’s nothing.  If I’m going to do it, it must be deadly serious.  If I’ve decided that the day is for rest, I must do absolutely nothing whether I’m bored to tears or not.

I am instinctively a black and white person in how I view my life pursuits.  Those black and white views are a little skewed.  Intensely skewed.  Exhausting and exasperatingly skewed.  For me and for those around me.

It’s not a bad thing to be a workhorse as long as life is balanced.

Hmmmm….

Understanding this provides much needed perspective.  Perspective helps me choose.  Perhaps, what I’ll choose to believe is that everything in my life doesn’t have to be an all-consuming, full-time, black and white proposition.  And, if a pursuit isn’t full-time and deadly serious, it doesn’t make the pursuits any less meaningful.  The fact that I enjoy it doesn’t nullify it’s value.

Perhaps.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  Obviously, I knew the fallacy of what I was writing as I was writing it.  Exaggeration to make a point?  Me?!

It’s also honest.

Leave a Reply

