April 9, 2010

Remember the good parts first?

I learned something significant about myself this morning.  In situations where I’m recounting my experiences, I go straight to the bad parts first.  It’s as if I’m programmed to deal with those things first when I’m in an evaluative or reminiscent mode.  The problem is, I rarely have time to move on to the good parts.

It’s just the opposite when I’ve got a new idea.  I am flooded with all the possibilities and potential good.  Then, I start whittling away potential problems — but I hang onto the good parts tenaciously.

What would happen if I started reminiscences by thinking of the good stuff first?  I’m giddy just considering it.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  This is going to take practice.  But, it’s eye opening.  Kind of like the wonderful face of the little girl in the picture.  Yep, that’s sometimes how it feels!

1 thought on “April 9, 2010”

  1. Just like how banks have to account for deposits before they count payments in the day’s reconciliation….

    Spiritually speaking, be the bank and credit first!!

    :->

    ~ c.

Leave a Reply

