April 3, 2010

I need to but can’t afford to hire an employee. What’s the answer? I believe there is one.

It’s time to go big or go home. Luckily, I work here.

Nothing on my plate is so far outside my skill set that it’s not eventually do-able.  The corner I’ve painted myself into is the accompanying time commitment to do it well.  I’m not complaining.  I’m happy about the choices I’ve made.

Adding independent contractors and interns to the mix has been a step in the right direction.  I know that what I really need is a full time employee.  I can’t afford a full time employee.  Hmmm….  This is the sort of challenge I love.  I believe there is an answer.

Okay.

What’s the answer?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  Yes, I’m talking about both Caper Company and Optimist Theatre.  But mostly Caper Company.

I think the answer will be more independent contractors initially, but that’s going to take some thought.

Thanks for the suggestions and perspectives.  I’m going to mull some more and respond.

5 thoughts on “April 3, 2010”

  1. A part time employee who loves to throw themselves into their work and goes full steam ahead on everything. Where should I send my resume?

  2. Hiring an employee is going to add more complexity to the BTS business side of things, but if you think that’s the way to go….
    Is it the workload for Caper? For Optimist? The combination?
    Are these tasks you feel you can’t delegate to your intern/freelancers? Or are they more pressing/time-bound where they can’t wait for their assigned hours? Do you need another layer of management involved in working with your intern/ freelancers? Do you need a bigger pool of freelance folks? What types of work do you envision your employee doing? Research? Communications? Answering the phone?
    I’d suggest writing down your current state, your desired current state, and your desired future state, and finding where those gaps are. Work from there…
    Wait, you’re right. I didn’t give you an answer, did I.

    1. Yes, Mish. You did give me an answer.

      I’m good at helping people see the big picture and plan backwards to figure out how to achieve it. Not so good for myself.

      Thanks very much.

  3. Susan,
    If there is anything I can help with please let me know. After Janesville the plate is clean and once school gets out I don’t have anything going on.

  4. Crowdsource it. Get one part time project manager who oversees everything, and then nick a bunch of volunteers with promises of everything from tchotkes to cookies.

    Cookies.

    Did I Mention cookies?

    Get 3-4 volunteers per project, sending over to the project manager, who talks directly with you. Might as well put the social networking cloud to good use.

    If this is too ambitious, I’m available after the 18th for weekends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

