Significant Stuff

March 26, 2010


There was an invisible bird inside the Fresno Yosemite International Airport a couple days ago.  He came flying over to the rows of seats and started hopping around.  I had just finished reading an interview with Thich Nhat Hanh and was in a mindful mood, so I saw him.  What a delight.

I looked around at the other people waiting for their flights and noticed that no-one else saw the bird.  He was hopping under the chair of one lady and I was certain that she would see.  She wasn’t doing anything else — no laptop, no cell phone, no book.  No bird.

I watched his shadow after he went too far under the seats for me to see feathers.  Hop, hop, hop.  I looked around and couldn’t see how he got inside, but he didn’t seem to care so neither did I.

What else will I see on those rare occasions when I open my eyes?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  No matter how wide I open my eyes, I can’t see the path in front of me — which is what I’ve really wanted to see.

3 thoughts on “March 26, 2010

  1. There’s a pigeon that takes the train from Howard to Jarvis most days. He’ll walk in, go to a corner of the train, when Jarvis is called, he’ll wait at the door, and fly out when the doors open.

    Like

  2. The other day I almost caused a traffic jam to slow down and see a hawk swoop low to the ground for it’s prey. It almost paced the car. It was a beautiful red tailed hawk. It was georgous and graceful. The person behind me honked loud and long at me. I’m glad I see things that other people miss. There’s a lot of beauty out there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

