Significant Stuff

March 24, 2010


My Mother taught me patience.  More precisely, she taught me that I have no patience.  Zero.  Zip.  Nada.  None.

Before I tried (in an utter vain and hopeless effort) to talk her into something a couple of days ago, I thought I had patience.  She exhausted it in minutes.

The people out there with children are snickering knowingly.  Yeah, yeah, yeah.  My kids came practically grown and able to already have conversation.

Oh.  My.  God.  My.  Mother.  I.  Wanted.  To.  Strangle.  Her.  She.  Is.  So.  Obstinate.

We’re nothing alike, of course.

I understand, theoretically and from a comedic standpoint, how quickly one’s Mother is supposed to be able to reduce one to a quivering and tangled mass of frustration, but I had no idea that … that… woman!… had so perfected the art in my absence.

Iwantedtokillher!  WithoutthedeathpartbutyouknowwhatImean!

Where is the nearest ice floe?

I hope there’s room on it for two.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…  My Mom also taught me humility when I realized how easily I can loose patience Big Time with someone who really can’t help themselves anymore.  It’s a lesson I ignore as often as possible.

Thanks for all the comments.  They made my day.

5 thoughts on “March 24, 2010

  1. The most important part here is breathing and walking away. Not from the situation, just long enough to regain your calm. I took care of both my grandmother and my mother and it was *the* most useful tool I had in my toolbox. Srsly.

    Like

    1. I believe that. Good advice. I suspect that if I’d spent more time with her in CA, I’d be taking frequent, brief walks. I’m going to tuck that away in the arsenal for the future, though.

      Thanks a bunch, Lessa.

      Like

      1. Hi–Myra’s Mom, here…You have NO idea how unfrigginbelievable the timing was on my seeing this post! Too funny…and, yes, I can relate. Big time.
        Take care!

        Like

Leave a Reply

