March 12, 2010

Hello, my name is Susan and I’m a writer.

Hello, my name is Susan and I’m a writer.  That is if being a writer is defined by the act of writing and someone reading it.  It’s like being an actor requires having an audience.  Otherwise, you’re doing it mostly for self-gratification – aka actorbation.  So, with words it’s writerbatory.  It can feel good and if that’s your purpose then fine.  One of my purposes in writing is for people to get something out of reading it.  That’s not all, but it is one goal.

Of course, in order for someone to get something out of it, the writing shouldn’t be total crap.  If being a writer is also defined as having experienced writer’s block or churning out dross, then check those boxes too.  The culprit:  Caper Company’s audio story scripts.

It finally occurred to me to give it a shot when I usually do my best writing.  In the morning.  This morning I took another stab at a really awful first draft for a stop on our next tour.  Great Haunt Spot but the audio story I’d drafted was clunky, disjointed and just plain dumb.  Now, it’s tons better.  (I’ve also learned to let a draft sit for a day too before it gets another editing and then goes to the editor, but that’s another post…)

Ta Da!  Yet another example of the Captain Obvious to the recue.  But it never is obvious until I finally put it together.  In the morning the words flow.  In the afternoon, I’m better off with spreadsheets or even (gulp!) the phone.

See, I can learn.

What other obvious lessons are in store?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

Okay, so that works well.  A familiar and welcome friend returned this morning.

My unconscious chewed on something overnight and I used to wake up in the morning with clear directions.  It was a wonderful feeling.  It didn’t happen every day, but it happened this morning.  I woke up thinking about what I wanted to write.  So, I did.

It’s a gorgeous day out.  Dark, rainy, very gloomy.  It’s beautiful because I get to get in the car and go do field research this afternoon.  And I woke up with some clarity.

Significantly,

SSF

2 thoughts on “March 12, 2010”

  1. Whatever the other obvious lessons are, they’re too obvious to see coming!

    You’ve gotten a couple of nails on the head when it comes to the writing process. 1) your own will be unique (for you, mornings are better), 2) know when to walk away — and know when to run! Perspective of a clear head makes everything better. There’s also 3) which is, it doesn’t matter if it sucks. Just write it. Then, cut away the crap and keep what’s decent and massage that. But write. Then, write some more. The internal editors are the enemy of creativity, and shutting them off is sometimes a function of brain-dumping everything and then sorting through it later.

    Congrats on the epiphanies…and also on being able to see improvement! Isn’t that the best?

    ~ Christie

Leave a Reply

