March 10, 2010

What’s your obsession?

It’s Wednesday!  I love Wednesdays!  I used to anyway — before I OD’d on Ghost Hunters.

I used to even have an “It’s We-e-ee-ea-nd-nes-daaay!” song that’s I’d sing when I woke up in the morning.  Such glee.  There were going to be at least 4 hours of my favorite show on tv that night.  Sad, but true.  The Wednesday song was for a tv show.  In my defense, I rarely actually watched any of it besides the new episode, but it was the perfect background noise for working on Caper Company.

I hardly ever inhaled.

Too much of a good thing?

A couple of nights ago, I was flipping and discovered that the National Geographic channel has jumped on the paranormal reality show band wagon.  Just like it’s nearly unheard of to run across a theatre without a ghost, there are fewer tv stations out there who do not have some sort of paranormal investigation show.

Am I headed for burn out?  Are we all?

We don’t have to be.  It’s not inevitable.

Any immersive hobby can rapidly evolve from interest to obsession to lifestyle choice.  It’s delicious to be enthralled with scratching that itch.  It’s like falling in love.  Once the flush has worn off, it’s important to understand that that’s what it was.  Falling in love.

I’ve turned a corner and I like Wednesdays again.  Maybe because I’ve got tiny, wobbly legs on Caper Company and have moved past the honeymoon stage.  I don’t have to quit.  I can still love it.  In doses and with loving perspective.

What’s your obsession?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

Apparently, my real obsession is in biting off more than I can chew and then obsessively analyzing the process.

Gotta love me.

And, thanks to my Facebook friends for their ‘obsession confessions’.

SSF

2 thoughts on “March 10, 2010”

    1. uuuuuummmmm… what was it….? I did watch it. Really, I did. Oh yeah, they went to this place and they investigated it. And Grant was missing for some reason.

      Fort Ticonderoga! That’s it!

      Whew.

      I believe the results were inconclusive. Everyone heard footsteps on the floor above them, but I think that was about it.

      And, I never figured out why Grant was missing.

Leave a Reply

