Significant Stuff

March 5, 2010


Conscious choices.

When I managed a large, multi-office Customer Service department, I used to conduct training classes.  Why?  I knew that the people I was working with already had proficiency in many of the skills we were practicing.  After all, they already had the jobs and were doing well.

Here’s why.  Besides possibly learning something new, it was important to me that they got better and better.  One of the the purposes of training is to bring skills already in use into conscious practice.

Have you ever gotten so good at something that you could do it without thinking?  Of course you have.  We all have things like that.  What happens when you do think about it?  Do you question why you do it the way you do?  Do you wonder if there are other ways to do it?  Ideally, consciously looking at unconscious behaviors allows us to reinforce the good and evolve the less effective parts.

This doesn’t mean that we were doing anything wrong.  It means that we humans are never perfect.  We always have room for growth and evolution.  That drive to evolve is intrinsic to what makes us human.

It’s a double edged sword, though.  Once I start down the road of consciousness, I can’t turn back.  No matter how hard I try.  There have been points on the path when I’ve wished that I could kick in old rabbit hole habits and couldn’t.  It was frustrating and telling.

So, conscious choices.  They come with the responsibility to evolve.  They also come with possibilities.  If the possibility is more important, then it’s time to make the choice.

What’s the most significant choice I can make at this point in my life?  I already know the answer, but am not ready to put it out there in the universe.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

I don’t know if I hate this or am grateful.  Both.  Yes, both.

I woke up at about 2am thinking that there are things about my life that I just don’t think about.  I choose not to.  That’s how I deal with them.  But that choice is still a choice. Yes, shocker.  There are some things about myself that I try to just plow through and gloss over.

When I move beyond ignoring to making a decision — when I consciously choose to think about whatever it is and still don’t do anything about it, it’s impossible to live with.

I had quite a conversation with myself last night.  I said things like, “I am not ignoring this anymore.  If I don’t decide a course of action, it means I’ve consciously chosen not to.”  And it felt awful.  Conversely, when I don’t think about it, when I try to just gloss it over and plow through, it still feels awful though.

Waking up is hard to do.

SSF

Leave a Reply

