Significant Stuff

February 26, 2010


I would add one more “C” to your list, Mr. Disney.

Clarity.

In addition to Curiosity, Confidence, Courage, and Constancy, I need Clarity.

It’s not enough to grit through.  To drive and push and forge my way.  I need to be clear on where I’m going.

Clarity doesn’t mean sticking to a plan regardless of what I learn along the way.  It’s good to roll with it, baby.  But, I can be as curious, confident, courageous and constant as you please but if I can’t see the forest for the trees, I’m running headlong into one after another.  I hate trying to get splinters out of my forehead.

I’ve said it another way in recent blogs.  Consciousness.  The best, most significant things happen when I’m conscious of my choices.  Clarity takes Consciousness to a new level.  It’s evaluative consciousness.

I’ve blogged about being judgmental.  Being evaluative is not the same thing.  No, it’s not just semantics.  It’s the difference between dogmatic harshness and consciously weighing pros and cons in order to make good choices.  Being evaluative allows for rolling with it.  For evolution.  For growth.  For Clarity.

I’ve blogged about about prayer.  This is a key element to Clarity.  For me, the concept of prayer is less an attempt to make contact with a specific deity, and more about focused meditation.

Perhaps there’s some sort of Cosmic Consciousness out there that’s pulling these and other elements together.  I ran across a new book by Mary Pipher and thoroughly enjoyed the 15 minutes I had with it while waiting for the Grafton Research Librarian to return.  There’s a link to her NY Public Radio interview if you click on the book cover image.

Is this what I really mean by a blended life?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

I think so.  Clarity comes in cumulative doses.

Leave a Reply

