February 24, 2010

So, my abundant women compatriots, what do you want to do today? Who are your women inspirations? What woman power feeds you?

Abundance.

I woke up at 2-something-am thinking about abundant people – specifically women.  I’m a huge fan of abundant women.

Mae West, Rikki Kipple, Bette Midler.

Pema Chodron, Wendy Johnson, Eleanor Roosevelt.

Mary Pipher, Ann-Elizabeth Shapera, Danielle Dupont.

Marcy Kearns, Char Paulbicke, Whoopi Goldberg, Simone de Beauvoir.

Mary Wollestonecraft, Edie Paulbicke, My Mom.

Lynn, Juli, Chris, Holly, Alice, ML, Jen, Jenni, Stefanie, Heather, Shelly, Laura, Linda, Buffie, Shawn, Julia, Dani, Bev, you.

Oh, woman, I’m just getting started.  My head is spinning with more names.

Today, I will revel in abundance and take joy in these women.  We aren’t perfect, but we are powerful.

When I connect with these women, I feel like there are more possibilities than problems.  That’s a great start.  So, my women, what do you want to do today?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

PS.  And Azeesa Islam, Barbara Leigh, Christie Manussier, Lynette Obara.

Mish, Jill, Kiri and Julie.  And Norma Bombeck.

And so many more.

Update….

I kept thinking of more and more women who belong on this list and had to stop myself from continually updating.

This is a hugely eclectic group.  My relationships with the women I’ve actually met on this list is almost as eclectic.

I felt surrounded by powerful, female energy yesterday — which was ultimately what I needed.  I also realized that my criteria for abundance doesn’t necessarily mean that we’re friends.  I recognize something abundant about this woman and by extension, there’s something I appreciate about her.  That’s good enough.

It’s easiest to entirely negate people that you don’t see eye to eye with.  The challenge is finding something about them that you admire.  Then, they’re human and you can’t as easily dismiss them.  Or, I can’t anyway.

2 thoughts on “February 24, 2010”

  1. Thank you, Susan!

    I rip off your list, and I add Lily Tomlin, Carol Burnett, and Lady GaGa. Highly recommend reading RE GaGa’s rocketing ascent – she drives her own bus, to abuse the cliché. Admire her intensely. And you.

Leave a Reply

