Significant Stuff

February 13, 2010


I’ve been fat all my life.  Yes, fat.

This is not a moral issue or an indictment of me as a person.  But really, fat people speak up!  We know we’re fat.  You know we’re fat.  Let’s all stop ignoring the 500-lb elephant in the room.

For most of us, there isn’t anything you can tell us about how to loose weight that we don’t already know.  It’s our life’s obsession.  We read everything we can get our hands on.  I know about exercise and nutrition.  I know about the psychology of eating and of living a healthy lifestyle.  I’m not fat because I’m ignorant.

I’m not fat because I’m lazy either.  If you could hook a monitor up to the brains of fat people and gauge the intensity of our mental activity, it would be off the charts.  Except when we eat and right afterwards.  It’s anesthetizing.  We all know that, too.

Physically lazy?  Nope.  I enjoy physical activity. But, even when I was training for both marathons, I was still fat.  Less fat than I am now, but I carried more non-muscle weight than most of my fellow runners.

I’m not going to fix the fat with this post.  I’m going to state the obvious.  Why?  Because it’s time to admit the existence of fatism.

Fatism?  A few symptoms….

  • Discomfort or fear around fat people.
  • Pretending that the person you’re with isn’t fat.
  • Dismissing people who are fat as soon as you see them.  Usually related to fear.
  • Buying into unspoken prejudices and feeling bad about yourself.

I learned a long time ago that the first step to take in eliminating pain is to admit that it exists.  Take it out of the closet.  No secrets.

The secret is out.  I know I’m fat.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

It’s really sweet and kind when someone asks if I’m okay.  Thank you so much.

I’m not angry and nothing bad just happened.  This post is really about something that I feel strongly about.  It’s not in reaction to someone hurting my feelings. There’s no hidden meaning, subtext or subliminal message here.

Living Large (hee hee) is a daily part of existence.  I do it like anyone else who has an outstanding physical characteristic.  It’s not special or out of the ordinary to be aware of it.  What’s different is to admit that I’m aware of it and to open it up for conversation.

Sometimes my posts make people uncomfortable.  I’m sorry if that discomfort is over your personal edge.  I don’t want anyone to feel weird about reading my thoughts, but I need to be fearless in expressing them.  Granted, it’s easier to be fearless when writing because there is no instant feedback.  It happens later.

So, perhaps the significant thing I did with this post is hold up a mirror and ask others to look into it.  I don’t judge what you see, but you might not be able to help judging yourself.  I hope you do so kindly and with compassion and understanding.  And, if you’re angry with me for making you uncomfortable…

I need to think about that.

Love,

SSF

2 thoughts on “February 13, 2010

Leave a Reply

