Significant Stuff

February 10, 2010


The day job calls today.  I have a research route that takes me to 4 libraries in Ozaukee County today.  Oh, hurt me.  Let’s see if I have as much luck as I did in Cedarburg last week.

I never know what I’m going to encounter when I introduce the “P” word (paranormal) into conversations. The range of reactions are fastinating…

Nuts.  I don’t mind if people think I’m nuts because I can usually illustrate that I’m also harmless during the conversation.

Dismissive.  Anyone who’s turned away dismissively is frequently compelled to turn back shortly.  Usually as soon as they’ve had a moment to mull it over and eavesdrop on the rest of the conversation.

Bewildered.  This is always an act.  Everyone I’ve ever spoken with, upon reflection, has at least heard some sort of ghost story.  They just don’t want to admit it.  (see Nuts and Dismissive)

Intrigued.  They may not have any personal experiences, but they recognize that ghost stories are part of our universal folklore and have no trouble with me wanting to tell some.

Fascinated.  People who are open to the possibility or have had their own personal paranormal experiences. Often, fascination leads to enthusiasm.  That’s when I truly score!

If you’ve experienced the unexplainable yourself, it’s impossible to be truly and honestly dismissive.  It will always be a part of your consciousness.  You may want to deny it, but no matter how hard you try, you always wonder.  I know that I do.

Personally, I’m a friendly skeptic who loves a good ghost story.

What will I encounter today?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

Wow, that was fascinating.

I got 2 more Dismissives who quickly handed me off to someone else to take care of.  I got 3 more Intrigueds – one was so cute.  She waited until the other reference librarian was looking for some books for me and took the opportunity to tell me her ghost story.

And I got a new twist on Nuts called Extremely Polite.  There’s that special librarian who obviously thought I was nuts, but she didn’t have any minions to Dismiss me to, so she had to help me because it was her job.

No spectacular new Haunts discovered, but a couple of cool leads.

2 thoughts on “February 10, 2010

Leave a Reply

