Significant Stuff

February 5, 2010


Community.  There’s one to fit every size.

Most of my life, the word ‘community’ sounded like a cross between air escaping from a balloon and a dog howling.  I had no connection to the world of people outside my own dysfunctional family or their (or my) whacked needs.  It’s one of those things that we need regardless of whether or not we’re equipped to handle it.

It’s why we look for friends, for social groups, for things like a Renaissance Faire.  It’s not the only reason, but I’m just sayin.  Once I tasted that forbidden fruit, I was hooked.  It takes skills to maneuver your way through those situations and being an over-achieving, people-pleaser as a means for controlling my life, I did okay.

My wish for the youth of today (hey kid, get off my lawn…) is for them to be magically imbued with social grace.  The ability to become a welcome, contributing member of a group will take you places that a formal education can only begin to prepare you for.

Today, I foray out into the theatre community.  Let’s see what kind of skills kick in.

Signficantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

What a fascinating microcosm of people.

2 thoughts on “February 5, 2010

  1. It was great to see you and Ron at the meeting, Susan. I too need to build up my courage when it comes to being in groups, and accepting that hey, maybe I do have something to say that people might want to hear. The trick is being brave enough to say it, especially when you’re the “newbie.” So here’s to new adventures in this brave new world!

    Like

Leave a Reply

