February 4, 2010

Kicking the Afrin Monkey.

I can either take drugs to quit or I can just quit.  I have prescriptions for nasonex and a steroid in my purse, but the drugs probably won’t make it any easier.  Plus I’d have to pay full price for them thanks to my medical insurance deductible being re-set to $0.00 just because it magically became 2010.

I’m addicted to nasal sprays.  I carry Afrin around with me everywhere.  This is not a moral failing.  It’s bad sinuses compounded by a miracle med that quickly becomes a monkey on your back.  I swear, it’s classic addiction. I quickly progressed from the original strength 12-hour spray to the stuff for severe congestion and I use it 6 or 7 times a day.

I’ve got one day sober under my belt.  Kind of.  I used it yesterday morning and then thought, hey what would happen if I just quit?  About 4 or 5 days of suffering and then I’m free.  Hell, I’ve trained for 2 marathons and can deal with physical discomfort.  I can do this.

Signficantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

Okay, so this might not seem significant to you, but it is to me.  I’ve discovered a psychological addiction in addition to a physical one.  Crickey.  But, so far, so good.  I can breathe.

1 thought on “February 4, 2010”

Leave a Reply

