Significant Stuff

January 15, 2010


Today, I kick butt.

It’s amazing the power I feel when I remember that…

I’m fine.

I habitually reflect the angst of people closest to me – whether it’s tough things they’re dealing with or a physical illness.  My response is so sympathetic.  Tossing and turning last night I woke up to the clear thought, “I’m fine.  Even when he’s sick, I’m fine.  Even when she’s in pain, I’m fine.”

What a wash of relief.

It’s the sort of relief that enables me to truly care for the people around me.  Like fear, being excessively empathetic can be paralyzing.  Hey, if one person is suffering, isn’t that enough?  Don’t I owe it to the people I love to help them out?  They do the same for me.

Well, I want to be good at it.  It may seem a paradox, but it also means stopping the paralyzing self-indulgence of excessive empathy.  And that means having the frame of mind that empowers me to really help.

Today, I kick butt — and take names.  Specifically, the names of the people I’m calling on the phone.

What’s that ringing?

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

Yes, it was my phone.  The legion of people who’ve secretly whispered to me, “you know, Susan, I hate talking on the phone too” will cringe and feel that I have betrayed them.  But, It Was Good.

I’ll go back to hating to talk on the phone later.  I won’t say Promise (the P word is sacred), but I will say Probably.

Go, Go, Go!

Leave a Reply

