Significant Stuff

January 13, 2010


My To Do list today has the best mix of mundane and superhuman goals.  Things like…

Pick up the dry cleaning….

Look into starting yet another new business…

Walk the dog…

Sell the duplex in Racine…

This doesn’t seem unusual.  I grew up with very little adult supervision and when people ask me, “What made you think you could do that?” the answer is patently obvious to me.  No-one ever told me that I couldn’t.  I’m comfortable with making it up as I go along.  Conversely, that lack of early guidance has meant for some funny social gaps but, I’m picking up on that as I go along too.

Here’s to a full life.  Let’s see how I do with this kind of mix today – and a plan.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

Update…

The wisdom goes something like, ‘these things happen when you’re ready to handle them.’  It doesn’t always exactly work that way, but if you’re on a particular path, one of the ways to reality-check your progress is if you are encountering tougher issues.  The thought is that when there’s a part of you able to deal with something, life gives you opportunities.

For some reason, there’s more adversity and more opportunity for confrontation in my life lately.  I must be ready to handle it.  It may seem perverse, but I think I prefer that these things ARE happening.  I feel pretty well-equipped to deal with tough stuff and here’s my chance.

I mean, if I have to…

Significantly,

SSSF

2 thoughts on “January 13, 2010

  1. “Because nobody told me I couldn’t” is one of my favorite answers. Can you guess how many times I needed to use it when I decided to pack up my life and move to West Virginia to restore a 200 year old hotel?

    Like

Leave a Reply

