Significant Stuff

January 10, 2010


I’m a natural loner.  I love solitude and enjoy my own company.  When I have a day off, I find myself in quiet pursuit of me.  Today,  I’m craving connection.

I get like this every once in a while and lately more and more often.  There are amazing people in our lives and I want to spend time with them.  This is new.  I’ve gone through long periods of life assiduously avoiding prolonged personal exposure.  In my younger days, I’d push myself out there knowing that the next day, I’d suffer a people-hangover.

I know several people who will immediately get what I’m saying.  The flow of energy and focus that it used to take for me to connect was so depleting, that the next day I would be hit with a corresponding drop.  I’d have to re-charge before being able to face people again.  One of the greatest joys I’ve experienced has been a result of working through that.  I’m comfortable in my own skin now.  I easily dig cool people.  And, there are more and more folks on the radar every day.

So, today I really hope to get to hang out with some of you.  Ron and I shimmy, shift, and finagle to get a day off every couple of weeks and today is it.  Instead of holing up like an irritated bear trying to hibernate next to a techno-dance mosh bar, we’re dusting off snowshoes and inviting some people to head out with us and our dog.  I hope they can make it — and their little dog, too.

Today’s Significant Thing is about Connection.

Wanna go?  Gimme a call.  I’ll answer.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

3 thoughts on “January 10, 2010

  1. I know exactly how you feel. I spend a lot of time comfortably alone, what I call “indulging my inner monk,” and then suddenly a day or night comes in which it’s unbearable. Spent most of Christmas weekend alone this year and thought it would be fine. Wasn’t.

    Alas, though, I have no snowshoes or dog and I’m a good hundred miles or so away from you guys. So have fun. Stomp on a gopher for me.

    Like

  2. And, alas our friends couldn’t make it out for snowshoeing, but we got together that evening. After a full day out, I was exhausted, but it was so worth the effort to get off the couch and head back out.

    No hangover. Wonderful people. I feel replenished. Perhaps, the most significant thing is that it’s not black and white. It’s great to have both – connection with yourself and with others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

