Significant Stuff

January 6, 2010


I hate talking on the phone.  There, I’ve said it.

Apparently, I’m not alone.  Wikipedia – that scion of internet culture and knowledge – in their ‘WikiHow’ manual has a page entitled “How to Be Polite if You Hate Talking on the Phone“.  Really.  Click the link if you don’t believe me.  And, yes I’m referencing Wikipedia.  It seems plausibly appropriate for this topic.  And no, I haven’t read the article.  I’m not that far gone.

Have you ever pushed yourself to do something you know is good for you?  Yes, we all have.  I know people who live their lives feeling guiltly for their dislike of doing things they think they should be doing.  I’m generally not one of them.  I’m at peace with not liking some things.  I’m also at peace with regularly doing things lower on the like-it-totem pole because it’s what’s needed the most.  Hey, it hasn’t killed me yet.

Today I am going to talk on the phone.  I have about 20 people I really need to make contact with and if I’ve got a phone number instead of email, I’ll call.  Let’s see what happens.  I have my suspicions.

Significantly,

Susan Scot Fry

PS  If I call you today, don’t feel bad.  It’s not you.  It’s me.

2 thoughts on “January 6, 2010

  1. Well, this has been rather cool. I managed to have 10 actual conversations today and left 3 other messages.

    Please forgive me, world. I have been terrible at phone etiquette. It’s really not that bad. On the contrary, it’s been ….

    neat

    Thanks for taking my calls. Especially the guy who had never gotten a phone call from me who paused for 3 whole seconds before exploding with laughter that it was me. That was the tops.

    Like

  2. Got a comment via Facebook from a pal that I wanted to share…

    Yay! Part of me is glad to know that you also do not like talking on the phone (I hate it), and part of me is happy for you attacking it. Go Susan Go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

