Significant Stuff

January 3, 2010


Today I will pray.

This is significant because it’s not something I do.  I did when I was little.  Later, I learned to meditate.  My prayer today will include bits and pieces of so many of the things I’ve discovered about my spirituality, but the significant thing is that it’s what I’ve decided to do.

Wish me luck,

Susan Scot Fry

(PS.  If you want to see how I did, click on Comments.  If there aren’t any Comments from me, I’m not done yet.)

3 thoughts on “January 3, 2010

  1. Wow. In the ‘first things first’ category, I got right down to it. No-one who knows me will be surprised.

    Being a neophyte in focused prayer, I did what usually works in other situations. I believe that if you aren’t sure what to do or how to begin, the best thing is to just do something. Do anything. So, I did. My movement gradually evolved into a peaceful ‘sweeping’ until thoughts began to flow.

    My first thoughts were all questions. Should I pray ‘for’ something? Nah. Should I focus on gratitude? Maybe…. I’m getting closer. A peacefulness is present. What’s my biggest concern? Who am I speaking to? God within us all?

    In peace, it came. My concern is a daily act of significance. Can I do it? Where will the ideas come from?

    In peace, the question was answered. Remain present. Expect good things instead of bad. Make a plan and roll with it. Believe in myself and in others. These actions and attitudes thin the block of fear based ego from between me and the mindful openness that allows “significant” thoughts to come.

    During prayer, my inner voice reminded me that often when I wake up in the morning, it’s with a clarion thought for the day. Maybe that’s it. Maybe that’s faith.

    Hey, I like prayer. It’s cool.

    Namaste,
    Susan

    Like

  2. A moment of Synchronicity, I love it.

    Last night I read a paragraph that really hit me, and now, reading this, I want to share.

    (Excerpt from “Green Darkness” by Anya Seton)

    “We’ll both pray” he said “You in your way, and I in mine. All heart-prayers are heard. All incense rises toward heaven, no matter the perfume it’s composed of.”
    “Prayers are always heard. They are answered according to Divine Law. Prayers are really desires. And desires, good or bad are fulfilled according to their strength. Good desire reaps good action. Evil also has great strength. Violent desires can set the machinery in motion. This earthly plane is run by passions flaming through…. ”

    Anyway, that was in my head when I read your status. I have been reading books on prayer (although what I quote is from historical fiction) because that is also one of my resolutions, to pray more. Best of luck to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

