Significant Stuff

January 1, 2010


What was significant about January 1, 2010?

First off, I didn’t turn on my laptop.  There are days when I choose not to and that was one of them.  That’s not the significant thing, though.  What was significant about January 1, 2010 is that I pushed myself to do what was best.  It may not seem significant on the surface, but it was the choice that counted.

Every inch of my body, soul and spirit was telling me that I needed to be still and quiet.  To lay down.  To nap.  For many reasons – some reasonable (head cold, blah, blah, blah).  Some – not so much (up too late last night, yada, yada, yada…).  Regardless, I was tired.  Plain and simple.  It was also the first day of the year.  It was my dog’s birthday.  It was a rare day when I could spend time with my amazing husband.  So, we suited up and hit the hiking trail.

Yes, that was what was significant about yesterday.  We hiked.  There’s so much that goes into that seemingly simple thing, but hey significant doesn’t have to be complicated.  It also doesn’t always have to be explained ad infinitum, so I’ll just leave it at that.

Gratefully,

Susan Scot Fry

Leave a Reply

